1. About Gabriel Teodros

    Gabriel Teodros is a musician and writer who first made a mark with the group Abyssinian Creole, and reached an international audience with his critically-acclaimed solo debut Lovework.

    He has since set stages on fire all across the US, Canada, Mexico and Ethiopia; often in combination with workshops on storytelling, music and media literacy. 2012 saw the release of 2 more critically-acclaimed albums, Teodros' solo Colored People's Time Machine, as well as CopperWire's Earthbound; a space opera of a hip hop ride (set in the year 2089) that Teodros recorded with fellow Ethiopian-American artists Meklit Hadero and Burntface.

    In 2014 Teodros released 2 solo projects: Children Of The Dragon - another journey through time, Hip Hop, Ethiopian musical traditions and shifting homelands with Washington, DC-based producer AirMe, followed by Evidence Of Things Not Seen - a James Baldwin-inspired portrait of right now with Auckland, New Zealand-based producer SoulChef.

    In 2015, Teodros made his speculative fiction debut with a story published in Octavia's Brood: Science Fiction Stories from Social Justice Movements (AK Press). His writing has also been published by The Feminist Wire and Okayafrica.

  2. Evidence of Things Not Seen

    Gabriel Teodros & SoulChef
    Full-Length Album (independent, 2014)

    1. Trans-African Highway Part 2
    2. Bus Stops
    3. Freq
    4. After Dark (ft. Jonathan Emile)
    5. 30 Something, Hella Single
    6. Light Attracts Light & Everything Else Too
    7. Greeny Jungle (ft. Shakiah)
    8. Little Things
    9. Outside Looking In
    10. Black Love (ft. Sarah MK)
    11. Letter To Our Unborn
    12. All In

    Physical CD comes inside a book of lyrics, digital book available on bandcamp only.

    Reviews: Okayafrica | MTV Iggy | The Stranger | Africa Speaks 4 Africa | Word Is Bond | City Arts
    Interviews: Africa Speaks 4 Africa

    Children of the Dragon

    Gabriel Teodros & AirMe
    Full-Length CD (independent, 2014)

    1. Re: Invent (ft. Luam Kidane)
    2. 24 Hour Layover (ft. Mahi Mo)
    3. Beyond The Shadow Of A Doubt Monster
    4. The City Of Bruce Lee
    5. Frida Kahlo
    6. Bole Road
    7. Prayer
    8. Clarity
    9. In A Post-Apocalyptic B-Boy Stance
    10. Parable Of The Dragon
    11. Grow Up Before You Blow Up (ft. Luam Kidane)
    12. Stay Present

    Recorded at Chillum Studio (Washington, DC) & Defar Recording Studio (Silver Spring, MD)
    Mixed by AirMe, Gabriel Teodros & Dume41.
    Mastered by Dume41 at The Legion Of Dume (Seattle, WA)


    (Meklit, Burntface & Gabriel Teodros)
    Full-Length CD (Porto Franco Records, 2012)

    1. Beyond Mars
    2. Phone Home
    3. Creation
    4. Mahalia Einstein
    5. Kármán Line
    6. Be With Me In The Darkness
    7. Wake Up
    8. Stories
    9. Marathon
    10. Speak

    Produced by Burntface & Chris Coniglio. Mixed by Vitamin D. Star sounds appear courtesy of Jon Jenkins and NASA's Kepler Mission. Album includes liner notes by Nnedi Okorafor.

    Reviews: Wired | Discovery News | San Francisco Weekly | San Francisco Chronicle | Rap Reviews | Surviving the Golden Age | The Stranger
    Interviews: Underground Railroad with Jay Smooth | San Francisco Weekly | SF Bay Guardian

    Colored People's Time Machine

    Gabriel Teodros
    Full-Length CD (Fresh Chopped Beats/MADK Productions, 2012)

    Watch Blossoms of Fire
    Watch Mind Power
    Listen to Beit (ft. Sabreena Da Witch)
    Listen to Sangre Nueva (ft. Bocafloja)
    Watch a live performance of Colored People's Time Machine

    Colored People's Time Machine is 16 tracks with production by BeanOne, Justo (of The Physics), Budo, Amos Miller, EarDr.Umz the MetroGnome, Phreewil, Suttitkeeree, Danny Beat, WD4D and Crispy. Featured guests include Meklit Hadero, SKIM, Amos Miller, Khingz, Bocafloja, Sabreena Da Witch, MADlines, Rogue Pinay, Sonny Singh, okanomodé, Cristina Orbé and Maya Jenkins.

    Reviews: This Is Africa | 206 UpRap Reviews | Okayplayer.com | MTV Iggy | Street Date | Seattle Globalist | The Stranger | KEXP

    Interviews: KEXP | 206 Up

    GT's Ethiopium: A Jitter Generation Mixtape

    Gabriel Teodros
    (independent, 2009)

    1. Your Welcome
    2. Axum Tall
    3. Sheba
    4. Bless
    5. Ethiopian Soul
    6. Hi, i miss you.
    7. Mothershippin'
    8. Cycles
    9. Brand New
    10. Just Breathe
    11. Dance with Destiny
    12. Love It When U Shine

    Jacked beats from Oh No
    Recorded at The Nest (Brooklyn, NY)

    Reviews: Last Night's Mixtape | Dopehug | The Stranger | Seattle Weekly


    Gabriel Teodros
    Full-Length CD (MassLine, 2007)

    Watch No Label (Esma Remix)
    Watch Don't Cry For Us (feat. Khingz & Toni Hill)
    Watch Third World Wide
    Watch a live performance of Beautiful

    Lovework is 17 tracks with production by Amos Miller, Sabzi, Kitone, Specs-One and Moka Only.
    Featured guests include Toni Hill, Khingz, Prometheus Brown, Jerm D. and Rajnii.

    Reviews: Rolling Stone Magazine | Okayplayer.com | URB Magazine | Colorlines Magazine | AllHipHop.com | OneTwoOneTwo.com | Platform8470 | Seattle PI | Seattle Weekly | The Stranger

    Lovework hit #1 on the CMJ Hip Hop Charts for several weeks, and came in at #19 for the year 2007.

    No Label

    Gabriel Teodros
    Digital EP (MassLine, 2007)

    1. No Label
    2. East Africa
    3. Sexcapism
    4. No Label (Instrumental)

    "No Label" produced & mixed by Moka Only at Mammal Music Studio (Vancouver, BC). "East Africa" & "Sexcapism" produced by Amos Miller & mixed by Vitamin D at The Pharmacy (Seattle, WA).

    No Label debuted at #1 on the CMJ Hip Hop Charts.

    To receive occasional e-mail updates with upcoming tour dates and exclusive music, sign up here
  3. Contact Gabriel Teodros

    To receive occasional e-mail updates with tour dates and exclusive music, sign up here.

    For booking performances & workshops, press or recording inquiries: e-mail Gabriel Teodros